Please Help! I Don't Know What To Do!

Decorating By Tellis12 Updated 5 Nov 2010 , 12:34pm by -K8memphis

Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 5 Nov 2010 , 3:44am
post #1 of 12

I'm making a 4 tiered, square fondant covered cake due tomorrow evening at 6. It's white and the bride wants a black damask pattern on it. She gave me green ribbon she wants put on it but the ribbon is 1.5" and with it there isn't enough room to put the damask stencil on. Should I call her (on her wedding day) and explain the problem and give her the option of no ribbon or a bead border or should I just make an executive decision and put a bead border on it? And if I do that, should the bead border be the same color as her ribbon or should I make it black to match the stencil?

I feel terrible about this whole situation. I've never done a damask covered cake before and I didn't realize the problem with the ribbon. I feel like an idiot.

Thanks for any help!

11 replies
kleenzac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kleenzac Posted 5 Nov 2010 , 3:50am
post #2 of 12

Can you get to a store to get thinner ribbon in the same colour?

Smallfrye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smallfrye Posted 5 Nov 2010 , 4:18am
post #3 of 12

How tall are your tiers? Can you put the pattern on tonight and let it dry then add the ribbon tomorrow? Or go with thinner ribbon.

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollyberry91 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollyberry91 Posted 5 Nov 2010 , 4:25am
post #5 of 12

I wouldn't change to the bead border unless you ask her. i would try to find thinner ribbon in her color and if you can't get thinner in black. Then take all the ribbon with you when you set up in case she doesn't like one way you can change it. You might can put the the thicker original ribbon over the stencil and it still look good. HTH

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 5 Nov 2010 , 4:53am
post #6 of 12