New Here And Need Help With Pricing....

Decorating By Allikat415 Updated 4 Nov 2010 , 5:52pm by TexasSugar

Allikat415 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Allikat415 Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 1:21pm
post #1 of 7

Ive been doing cakes on and off for a few years and am starting to venture out to the public, yikes! I've done a few cakes for friends and felt that I priced very low. I'm just not sure on how to price my work/time appropriatly. I don't want to overcharge, but I have found I spend many hours in the kitchen for very little money. The 2 cakes on my profile were both done for $35. Any insight would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!!!

6 replies
Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 1:39pm
post #2 of 7

Most people around here charge per serving. There are a few who charge per tier but not many. The best advice is to figure up all of your costs for making a cake and go from there. I think "most" people charge between $1.50 and $4.50 per serving for buttercream and more for fondant. But as you can see, those are really different numbers so your price will also depend on your area and what other bakers in your area are charging.

elliespartycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elliespartycake Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 1:40pm
post #3 of 7

You need to do your own research. Don't know where you live, but that would certainly impact what your market will bear. Check out your competition's pricing. Then you need to figure your ingredient cost and the hourly wage cost. Once you total that you can probably price your cakes on a per serving price, for example $3.00 per serving. That coupled with a serving chart (there's one on the Wilton site) will give you your pricing map.
Someone on the other side of the country from you can not tell you what to charge, but with a little calculating, you'll figure it out.
Your work is very nice, good luck.

elliespartycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elliespartycake Posted 4 Nov 2010 , 1:41pm