Need Easy To Use (Yummy) Fondant Recipe.

Baking By Eriset Updated 17 Oct 2010 , 9:43am by brincess_b

Eriset Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Eriset Posted 13 Oct 2010 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 11

Hi, I'm new to cake decorating and to the forum so please forgive me if this is posted elsewhere.

I have taken the Wilton basic course so far and plan to take more, but won't have time before my wedding. I plan on making the cake myself (3 tiers). I want to use a marshmallow fondant because my fiance prefers that taste to others, but each time I try a new recipe the fondant is only usable right after I make it. If I wait for a day or two to use it I can't keep it from falling apart when I try to lift it to put it on the cake after I've rolled it out.

Does anyone know if I'm using a bad recipe or if there are any fondant tricks to help me out? My wedding is in 2 weeks and if all else fails there's always butter cream.

Here is the recipe I used last. I picked it up from allrecipes.com

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Marshmallow-Fondant/Detail.aspx

Thank you in advance for any help.

10 replies
mommakabob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommakabob Posted 13 Oct 2010 , 7:07pm
post #2 of 11

Here's the recipe I use all the time
16 oz marshmallows
2 TBS water
2lbs powdered sugar

You can make this in your mixer (if you have one) or by hand. I just made mine in the mixer for the first time and it was great.

Grease the bowl with shortening, pour in half of the powdered sugar and make a well iin the middle. In separate bowl, microwave marshmallows and water in 30 sec. intervals til melted. Dump them into the well in mixer and top with the rest of the powdered sugar. Mix on low til incorporated and then turn it up a bit. Use your dough hook for this. You can add flavors to it as well! HTH

apieceofcake-dolores Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apieceofcake-dolores Posted 13 Oct 2010 , 7:09pm
post #3 of 11

I use a MM fondant...