Ganache Under Fondant?

Decorating By bayoubelle Updated 6 Oct 2010 , 2:52pm by smbegg

bayoubelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bayoubelle Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 8:38pm
post #1 of 9

I've recently discovered (yes I am new to cake baking and decorating) that you can use chocolate ganache instead of buttercream when covering a cake with fondant!! But I'm affraid that this method intimidates me a little. So can I possibly gets some tips, recipes, or tutorials from the lovely CC community?
P.S. I need this info to do a cake for my sister in law's baby shower! Thanks a Bunch!!

8 replies
TrixieTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TrixieTreats Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 9:05pm
post #2 of 9

Just make sure you do a 2:1 ratio for the Ganache (for dark or semi-sweet) Give yourself enough time to let the ganache set up. Ideally let it sit overnight before you will need to use it. It will become a smooth peanut butter consistency that is easy to spread. Ice your cake with the ganache and use a warm knife/spatula/bench scraper to smooth the sides and edges. Let it set for a bit to set up, the ganache will form somewhat of a sturdy shell. I spritz it with water or brush on a bit of water with a pastry brush to help the fondant stick to the chocolate. Then just cover with fondant as you normally would. Don't be intimidated, it is so easy and will give you a great result.

Darthburn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Darthburn Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 9:12pm
post #3 of 9

I've done it quite a bit myself, but like you I was intimidated to try it at first.

Pretty much just as Trixie said. (Well put Trixie! icon_smile.gif )

If you would rather use milk chocolate, mix it 3:1

I used to put mine in the fridge for a few hours to help it set when it was hot. Or like mentioned just cover it up and let it cool on it's own.

It literally is like peanut butter... it spreads on great and hardens to a fudge like shell. It's easy to get smooth too!