How Much To Charge?

Decorating By Donny13 Updated 28 Sep 2010 , 12:55pm by leily

Donny13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donny13 Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 6:16pm
post #1 of 7

Hey all, im relatively new to this, so far all my cakes have been freebees....they've been for friends, now ive got a few paying jobs lined up and i dont really know what or how to charge? Is there a basic rule of thumb, or do i have to say exactly whats involved to get an idea.

I thought it would go something like, take what you spent on mateirals and then just add 50%, am i on the right track?

Please help, i have to get back to her before she thinks im blowing her off.

thank you!

6 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 6:35pm
post #2 of 7

Figure out how much it costs you to do the cake. You have to include everything in this, even the small little things.

Figure about how long it will take you to do the cake. How much do you want to make an hour? Multiply those two numbers together for your labor costs.

How much profit do you want to make on the cake?

Add those three numbers together, divide by the number of servings in the cake, and you have a price per serving. You don't have to do this for every cake. Once you get your price for serving amount, then you just use that on future orders, unless they are asking for something carved/3d or gumpaste flowers, or something that will just take a ton of extra time to do.

Mexx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mexx Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 6:36pm
post #3 of 7

Hi -

There's a thread about pricing in the "Cake Decorating Business" forum and someone provided a pricing matrix
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-5711.html