New...what Would You Charge?

Decorating By walterak Updated 16 Sep 2010 , 2:58pm by JaeRodriguez

walterak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
walterak Posted 7 Sep 2010 , 2:08am
post #1 of 11

I am new to making cakes for people on the side of my full time job. I recently did this cake for a friend and had someone wonder about adding another tier and cost.

14", 12", 10" and 8" square with BC and MMF, and silk roses. Just like this pic just with an additional, larger tier.

Just curious as to what you would charge for this for a wedding cake. THANKS!!!

I am also having trouble getting my pic to my post, so its the only one in my album right now. Square Roses.

I know things cost differently in places...but just looking to get an idea and appreciate advice!

10 replies
durell87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
durell87 Posted 7 Sep 2010 , 2:25am
post #2 of 11

Most the time cakes are priced per serving. So fist u need a base amount for per slice plain bc. I think the average is 3 bucks per slice then u have the option of adding extra charge per slice for the mmf or just adding a set price for it. So overall id say 3 to 4 bucks per serving. U can look up the serving amount per pan size on here or wilton has one too. Hoped that helped!

careylynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
careylynn Posted 7 Sep 2010 , 2:28am
post #3 of 11

Hi Walterak! Welcome to CC. Pricing is a "hot spot" on this forum. Don't be surprised or offended if someone jumps on your case about it. I made the same mistake asking a pricing question for my first post, and WOW!!! I was almost in tears with the responses. With time, I learned the "ways" of CC and I grew thick skin real fast. lol. Hopefully, your experience will be different, but if not, I forewarned you icon_smile.gif

So, have you "sold" a cake yet? Or, have you done cakes as gifts?