My Cheap Source For Small Amounts Of Vanilla Beans

Decorating By tavyheather Updated 3 Oct 2010 , 1:30pm by imagenthatnj

tavyheather Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tavyheather Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 4:50am
post #1 of 10

Just thought I'd share, I had a heck of a time finding vanilla beans for less than $10 each at grocery stores, and don't bake enough (I'm a hobby baker) to justify buying a $50 bag (albeit a good deal) of beans. So......

I was at Cost Plus World Market and low and behold they have 2 beans for $2.99, they're Madagascar and have great flavor, are long, and are always very full of seeds.

I've since bought about 10 packs from them over a couple months and they're always consistently good, in stock, and the same price.

Just thought I'd share!

9 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 5:25am
post #2 of 10

thank you for sharing this.

cathyscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cathyscakes Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 5:26am
post #3 of 10

Also ebay is a good source for vanilla beans. I have bought a dozen for 3.00. I use them to make vanilla. I just put a bunch in a bottle of vodka. Use the rest for cakes, and fillings.

julzs71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julzs71 Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 2:48pm
post #4 of 10

You can get them online for less. I usually get 200 and share them with other people. I use it for extract and vanilla bean.

BethLS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BethLS Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 3:32pm
post #5 of 10

I second eBay!

You can get about 50 beans for about 20$ icon_smile.gif It rocks! (Most of the cost is shipping, not the price of the beans, however Im sure thats how they make their money)

Real homemade vanilla is amazing!

tavyheather Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 5:33am
post #6 of 10

yeah, I know u can buy them in bulk for less, that's why I brought it up b/c I don't want 200 vanilla beans.

I want 2-4 at a time.