Cake Baking 101 Help!!

Decorating By rosannar4 Updated 15 Aug 2010 , 3:09pm by rosannar4

rosannar4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosannar4 Posted 14 Aug 2010 , 4:55pm
post #1 of 7

I am self taught and have only been at this for a few months, (after getting a decorating kit for Mother's Day.) I have been hooked!! ButI can't seem to find anything on how and when to bake a cake prior to the delivery day. It has been trial and error so far. So I have lots of silly questions like how far in advance should you bake before frosting and decorating? How do you keep the cake fresh? Why does the bottom get too moist sometimes? I'm so lost! Any help would be great! THX! I love looking at all your pictures now I just need to basic how to's!!

6 replies
Echooo3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Echooo3 Posted 14 Aug 2010 , 5:05pm
post #2 of 7

Your going to get lots of answers to these questions.

You can bake far ahead and freeze the cakes which actually makes them more moist, the take them out two days before they are needed, do the crumb coat, decorated the next day and then deliver the following day.

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 14 Aug 2010 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 7

You are going to get lots of different answers to your questions, most people have their own different tried and tested ways of baking and decorating. Here's mine - lets assume I am delivering a cake on Saturday:

Wednesday - bake cake, unmold onto plastic wrap, wrap, cool on rack, split the layers in two, wrap individually in plastic wrap, freeze in a freezer bag.
Thursday - remove cakes from freezer, unwrap. Fill layers while still partially frozen. Let them defrost and settle (I put a cookbook on top of the cake to weight it down slightly). 4-6 hours later, crumbcoat. Leave on counter or in cardboard box.
Friday - another layer of buttercream, then cover with fondant. Decorate. Store in cake box for delivery.
Saturday - deliver cake.