How Do I Stack Cakes???

Decorating By jrapp Updated 12 Aug 2010 , 8:16pm by Bskinne

jrapp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jrapp Posted 12 Aug 2010 , 8:00pm
post #1 of 5

I am doing a small two tier cake this weekend and I have never done this before. Do I need to use a cake board underneath the top tier?? are dowels necessary to support the weight? any tips on making sure that the top cake will not shift during transport

4 replies
deMuralist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deMuralist Posted 12 Aug 2010 , 8:09pm
post #2 of 5

the SPS system seems to be highly recommended. I am a hobbyist so I have only so far done dowels. But you need support for every 4" of cake height. For me, the cake boards have in the past absorbed moisture and let the dowels press through, so I now cover the boards with glad press and seal.

Edna (tonedna1) has a great youtube tutorial using dowels.

lisamenz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lisamenz Posted 12 Aug 2010 , 8:12pm
post #3 of 5