All Cancelled

Business By beesweetcakes Updated 11 Aug 2010 , 12:42pm by TandTHarrell

beesweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beesweetcakes Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 1:45pm
post #1 of 9

Hi! I am new to this forum and I need advice. I am just starting out in my cake decorating business. I live on a military installation in Japan and there are many cake decorators. I am keeping my prices in line with everyone else's. I have received 4 orders this past week and now I received email's from all of them telling me that my cakes are too expensive and they have found someone else to do them. I am getting very frustrated. I have read all of the forums that have advised never to under price the competition. Sounded like good advice but now I am questioning that advice.

Please help! I am open to any and all suggestions. Thanks!

8 replies
cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 1:54pm
post #2 of 9

That is why a non refundable deposit is neccessary. That way if they back out, you have covered the time you spent/materials ordered. But usually, if people have money already invested in something they are not all that likely to back out.

kansaslaura Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kansaslaura Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 2:00pm
post #3 of 9

Agreed on the deposit, but I think your problem runs deeper. If all they're looking for is the next cheapest cake, then the guy who drops his price .50 cents is going to have the herd beating a path to his door.. and then the next one hears about that drop and off they go to her door.

Is there any way you can get samples in their hands? Show your work to be worth the little extra?

beesweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beesweetcakes Posted 9 Aug 2010 , 2:24pm
post #4 of 9