Securing Things On Cake

Decorating By odish Updated 8 Aug 2010 , 1:55am by BethLS

odish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
odish Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 8:24am
post #1 of 13

Hi there,
At the moment if i am securing things onto a cake (such as a fondant bow or folding butterflies) I make up some icing with egg white and icing sugar and pipe on some "blobs" where I need them to go. If it's something small I have used alcohol with a brush but things like the butterflies need to be more secure. So my question is - are there any shortcuts/alternatives to this method. I am a newbie at this wonderful "cake thing" and have about 3 cakes to do most weekends. But often I find myself mixing a whole quantity of icing to pipe just one small thing. It seems wasteful as i might not use it again that week. Could buttercream be used if I had some spare, or is there something i could buy like icing gel or pens ( I have heard of these but not sure if they are just for painting on details.)
Thank you,
Finola

12 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 8:39am
post #2 of 13

You can use a bit of melted chocolate or white chocolate or candy melts.

I use chocolate to hold bows together, but gum glue (tylose and water) for most other things.

pixiefuncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pixiefuncakes Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 10:11am
post #3 of 13

My cake instructor taught me to use a small amt of gumpaste, dissolve in hot water and let cool - I think tylose and water is the same thing. According to old hands just using water works for most things (sugar sticks to sugar love).

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 10:33am
post #4 of 13

Water, bc, royal icing, edible glue, chocolate, all good options, depends what your trying to stick together.
xx

sweet_T7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_T7 Posted 6 Aug 2010 , 11:12am
post #5 of 13