How Do I Do An Allotment Cake?

Decorating By BESSIE22 Updated 10 Aug 2010 , 10:47am by catsmum

BESSIE22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BESSIE22 Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:16pm
post #1 of 10

I am an absolute beginner with all this and am wanting to do a cake for the FIL . I had an allotment one in mind but the question is where do I start??? Marzipan vegetables I could manage, but what about a fence or shed? Do you think thats pushing it for a beginner? And silly question but what do I make it all out of??

9 replies
all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:29pm
post #2 of 10

What's an allotment cake?

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:39pm
post #3 of 10

An allotment is a garden that you rent from the council, at least it is in England as far as I know icon_wink.gif
Maybe something like this?: http://www.flickr.com/photos/33785888@N02/3147783064/
Looks like she used Cadbury fingers for the fence which would be easy enough if you are a beginner, and the shed looks like a square sponge cake with chocolate sprinkles stuck to the side, on top of the icing. You can do the vegetables and path out of marzipan, or sugarpaste.

funcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
funcakes Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 10:12pm
post #4 of 10

I don't know what is available in the UK, but here we have a lot of candy molds and I noticed one that was a mold for tiny little vegetables and a shovel (spade) and rake-so cute! Maybe you could find it or buy online and save a lot of work. I also think crushing up those thin chocolate cookies would make great soil for the garden.
HTH

all4cake Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 12:54am
post #5 of 10