A Few More ?'s

Decorating By bluerose26 Updated 21 Jul 2010 , 5:59pm by indydebi

bluerose26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bluerose26 Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 4:03pm
post #1 of 12

Do you use a thin layer of buttercream icing to crumb coat a cake?

How long do you freeze a cake for (after baking, cooling, and wrapping it)?

How long do u let it unthaw before icing it?

Do you crumb coat before freezing it? then unthaw and ice with buttercream then put then fondant on it before the buttercream hardens?

Can you get the smooth look on a cake (like the one in my photo) using only buttercream?

What do you prefer to use to smooth buttercream?

After I ice with buttercream how long do i have to let my cake set before i decorate it? (w/o it falling apart)

When everyone made their 1st "fancy" looking cake, did you do a practice cake 1st?

How much buttercream would it take to cover the cake in my photo?

Thanks in advance to any1 who answers, Im new to using buttercream and fondant

11 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 4:21pm
post #2 of 12
Quote:
Quote:

I use the same icing that I use to ice a cake. I don't thin it down. I just put it on thinner.

Quote:
Quote:

I like it to freeze at least 4 hours and prefer overnight.

Quote:
Quote:

Cakes don't take long to thaw to a workable state. Anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes, depending on the size of the cake.

Quote:
Quote:

Do you crumb coat before freezing it?

No.

Quote:
Quote:

then unthaw and ice with buttercream then put then fondant on it before the buttercream hardens?

I dont' worry about whether the BC crusts or not. I havent' found that it makes a difference one way or another.

Quote:
Quote:

Can you get the smooth look on a cake (like the one in my photo) using only buttercream?