Just To Share A Tale Of A Kindness Returned

Decorating By Apti Updated 27 Jul 2010 , 1:06am by Jen80

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 10:18pm
post #1 of 16

Hello everybody in CC-land.

I've been decorating for about 4 months now and am completely and gloriously addicted. My neighbors and family call me the "cake lady".

Recently a neighbor I barely knew who lives alone had a stroke. Two other neighbors and I have been helping him. (BTW he's made a wonderful recovery!). Just now he brought me a gift to say thank you.
It's the book on my Wishlist!!! Professional Cake Decorating by Toba Garrett!!! He brought it over and said this is for the Cake Lady. I grabbed the book, did a happy dance, and have been drooling over the marvelous pages of wisdom.

On page 31 a hint says for BC roses, use Hershey's Kisses as a base!!!! How freakin' cool is that? Kids love to eat the roses! Wait 'til they find a Hershey's Kiss in the middle!

I know it's a LOT of exclamation points, but I am thrilled. Karma is a good thing and I wish all of you at CC who have been so helpful great karma as well.

15 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 10:24pm
post #2 of 16

You took the words out of my mouth ..... karma, baby! Karma! thumbs_up.gif

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 10:24pm
post #3 of 16

Thats wonderful.

I just wanted to let you know (if you don't already) That the ices convention is being held in San Deigo this year. If you have the time, you should go visit if even just to few the cakes and of course if your pocketbook can handle it the vendor area is to die for.

just visit www.ices.org for my info.

Apti Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 10:29pm
post #4 of 16

peg818,

I am SO already signed up. I have a hands on for the 3D undersea cookie, and all the demos they'd let me sign up for with standby tickets for the rest!