Having A Problem With Cake Crumbling When I Try To Torte

Decorating By klj0207 Updated 9 Jul 2010 , 5:06pm by carmijok

klj0207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klj0207 Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 2:40pm
post #1 of 9

I made a WASC recipe for a chocolate chip cookie flavor cake, but I'm trying to torte in to put a filling, and it has just crumbled in my hands...now I'm going to have to start over icon_sad.gif What can I do to keep it from doing this in the future? I'm still new at cake decorating, but when I can't get something right it just makes me think that I'll never be any good.

Signed,
Very Frustrated icon_sad.gif

8 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 2:51pm
post #2 of 9

Has the layer cooled?
Is it overbaked?
What kind of knife are you using?

kandyc10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kandyc10 Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 3:14pm
post #3 of 9

I torte mine when they are frozen, it's a little harder to cut but the cake stays together. If you quit trying - then you will never be any good. Hang in there the more mistakes you make the better you will become. Good Luck!!

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 3:36pm
post #4 of 9

Definitely freeze your cake first and then try torting. Make sure you're using a sharp serrated knife too. And don't get discouraged. Remember that butter cream covers a myriad of cracks and mistakes! But try freezing first.
Good luck! icon_biggrin.gif

klj0207 Posted 8 Jul 2010 , 3:38pm
post #5 of 9

Yes it's cooled. I made the cake the other day and put it in the freezer. I took it out last night to let it thaw. I used a cake leveler. I've tried to cut it with a serated knife and I end up cutting it uneven. And I tried to cut a frozen cake the other day and I just end up smashing the cake trying to cut it and hold onto it at the same time. Is there an easier way? It's just a 9x13 cake, and it cut fine...but when I tried to take the top layer off that when it crumbled.