Question About Bubble Gum Roses

Decorating By dianelin Updated 13 Sep 2010 , 2:35pm by Neakie

dianelin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dianelin Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 5

I made these a couple days ago, and they turned out pretty good. My problem is that with our high humidity & working the bubblegum into petals, it's not drying properly. The petals tend to droop and after 36 hours the gum is stickier than it was before.

I'm sure it's been discussed in the past, but could someone please give me some tips on this? I used Tootsie Roll Pops for the center, so they are fairly large.

4 replies
Dana62 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dana62 Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 3:19pm
post #2 of 5

I woul love to help you but I am a newbie too and I have never heard of bubblegum roses. Sounds interesting and I am anxiously waiting to hear the comments from other members. icon_eek.gif

msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 3:29pm
post #3 of 5

I've never made them - sounds interesting. Maybe you could knead some tylose powder into the bubble gum so they dry harder. I do that with my fondant. Or even knead in some premade gumpaste.

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melvira Posted 22 Jun 2010 , 3:37pm
post #4 of 5

I was just going to agree and say Tylose. That's what a lot of people add to make their fondant dry faster/harder.

Neakie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Neakie Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 2:35pm
post #5 of 5