Fondant Help!!

Baking By BatterUpCakes Updated 2 Jul 2010 , 9:35pm by lovenintheoven

BatterUpCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BatterUpCakes Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 11:46pm
post #1 of 9

I am going to try to make marshmallow fondant. I don't know really what to do. I am new to cake decorating. So...do you have a good marshmallow fondant recipe? and do i need to put icing on the cake before I put the marshmallow fondant on? please help!

8 replies
sweetretreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetretreats Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 12:07am
post #2 of 9

You definattly need to ice the cake before placing fondant. I alwasy let the icing crust over a bit before placing the fondant. As far as a marshmellow fondant recipe, just do a search and experiment till you find one you like. everyone's prefercnces are different. When you buy the marshmellow to make the fondant I would buy the good stuff, it makes a big difference. The fondant keeps as long as the experation date on the bag says it does. There is also no need to refidgerate the fondant for storage. there is nothing in it that will make it go bad. i usually rub it with crisco and wrap it with plastic wrap. I place that in a covered container in the pantery. GOOD LUCK and HAVE FUN! icon_biggrin.gif

BatterUpCakes Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 12:20am
post #3 of 9

okay thanks!

BeanCountingBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeanCountingBaker Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 1:19am
post #4 of 9

There are good videos of fondant on youtube. I recommend being generous with the crisco and conservative on the powdered sugar. MMF is not impossible, just jump in with both feet and practice a few times.

veghed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veghed Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 4:16am
post #5 of 9

I am new here and to cake decorating too. Just to give it a try, I made this MMF recipe a couple of days ago:

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/16228/buttercream-flavored-marshmallow-fondant