What Do You Use To Make Flowers

Decorating By KayMc Updated 21 Jun 2010 , 6:54am by jqorso

KayMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayMc Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 2:12pm
post #1 of 12

I'm a newbie, and have been learning to make gum paste flowers. I have seen a few pictures and posts where people mention fondant flowers. Which is better to use for making flowers? Thanks in advance for your advice!

11 replies
sheena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sheena Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 2:19pm
post #2 of 12

For the more realistic looking flowers I like using gumpaste. Ifthe flowers are to be used as cut outs and stick ons, then fondant works fine. HTh icon_smile.gif

Tillie6500 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tillie6500 Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 2:20pm
post #3 of 12

I was taught to use 3 parts fondant and one part gum paste. That depends on how quickly you want it to dry. The more gum paste the quicker it dries.

minicuppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
minicuppie Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 2:20pm
post #4 of 12

IMO gumpaste flowers are more realistic. Fondant just cannot be rolled and ruffled thin enough to look real. But (did everyone see the but?) fondant has it's place. It makes really cute rolled roses and other stuff that gumpaste is too fragile for. IMO.

sandy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sandy1 Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 2:29pm
post #5 of 12

I hope this information helps.

Straight Fondant:
Used for covering the cake and making cut-outs, appliques, etc.
Will stay soft for the longest time.

50/50 blend Fondant and Gum Paste
Used when more body is needed.
Used for draping and swags because it will hold its shape without stretching better than fondant alone.
Sets up faster and firmer than fondant alone.
Can be used for some flowers with minimal ruffles.

Straight Gum Paste
Used for flowers and other applications when you want to be able to roll it very thin and have it dry quickly and completely.