Question For The Experts

Decorating By Marcelita Updated 14 Jun 2010 , 6:00pm by Donnagardner

Marcelita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marcelita Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 1:07am
post #1 of 8

Why, oh why, do air bubbles happen when using a crusting buttercream?

I just want to understand what I did wrong

icon_cry.gif

Thanks!

7 replies
KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 1:23am
post #2 of 8

Do you mean air bubbles in the icing itself or air bubbles forming under the icing after it is on the cake?

Marcelita Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 4:02pm
post #3 of 8

Sorry for not being more clear on my post. Yes, I mean the air bubbles that form under the icing after it is on the cake.

I'm just trying to learn from my mistakes, but being a complete newbie, I find it hard to understand why this happens.

Thanks a lot for any help and/or advice

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 4:12pm
post #4 of 8

Is your cake cold or partially frozen when ice it?

Marcelita Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 4:17pm
post #5 of 8

No, it was not cold when I iced it. I crumb coated, refrigerated it, brought it back to room temp and then iced it. I also noticed you posted on my cake disaster picture on early Saturday (about the air bubble) and you suggested that it might be a weak support, but I used a cake board that is half an inch thick, so I don't think that was the problem either...

Thank you so much for posting! I really appreciate the comments.

Marcela

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 4:28pm
post #6 of 8

The cake needs to settle for several hours after it has been filled before icing it. Use a stiff damn between the layers, fill, crumb coat, then let settle.

KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 5:41pm
post #7 of 8