Hi, I'm New Here! And A Question.

Business By LoveMeSomeCake615 Updated 13 Jun 2010 , 9:42pm by LoveMeSomeCake615

LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 3:29am
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone!
I'm Julie, and my husband and I have a cake decorating business in Florida. I found this site, and I am already learning a lot!

I had a question about pricing. This has probably been answered a million times, but I'm still learning my way around!

My question was about shaped/3D cakes. I know cake pricing is somewhat regional, so maybe someone from North Florida can answer this one. I am just wondering what is a fair price to charge as a base price for shaped cakes? We have had the hardest time determining this. We feel that it should be more than just a basic layered and tiered cake, because of the extra work involved, but what is a fair price?

8 replies
tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 3:55pm
post #2 of 9

I'm not in Florida, but for sculpted cakes, my base pricing starts at $250.00, regardless of the size. Not sure if this helps, but that's how I do it. icon_smile.gif

LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 7:51pm
post #3 of 9

Oh ok, thanks, that does help! So you don't really go by servings for sculpted cakes? We haven't been doing a price per serving for ours, but I have seen some cake places say that theirs are $5/serving, $6/serving, etc.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 12 Jun 2010 , 8:15pm
post #4 of 9

The bakery I worked for in Oklahoma charged flat fees for things like 3-D soccer balls and Barbie cakes. For any other type of sculpted work we charged a minimum of $10 per slice--more depending upon complexity and type of cake and fillings etc. But the work they did was worth it. You have to back up the price with the quality I think. icon_smile.gif

LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 2:08am
post #5 of 9