Dummy Cakes?!

Decorating By BetsyBaker Updated 10 Jun 2010 , 9:35pm by Creative_Cookies_Cakes

BetsyBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BetsyBaker Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 2:48pm
post #1 of 12

HELP! Ok.. I have a 3 tiered wedding cake for July that I will need to travel 7 hrs to get to WITH the cake. I'm planning on baking, filling, frosting and fondant covering a 14'', 10'' and 6'' and transporting them in separate boxes. I'm just now questioning the use of dummy cakes. I've never done them before but I figure for transport it would make things MUCH easier. The bride doesn't mind either way. COMMENTS/ SUGGESTIONS..? DUMMY CAKE(S) for the top 2 tiers??

Thanks!!

11 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 4:28pm
post #2 of 12

I JUST did this! It was a re-creation of their wedding cake but they were not having that many people at their anniversary party but still wanted it to look like their original so I used a real 8 inch on the bottom and dummy 6 inch on top. You totally couldn't tell that the top was a dummy. It won't save the bride all that much since most charge about 80% if what they would charge to make the real cake but it will reduce your stress on the delivery!

So if you are making the 14" a real cake and the other two tier sizes dummys then the transportation is gonna be a snap! I am guessing that the wedding is not such a large wedding but she wants the look of a large wedding cake?

Funny sidenote...the couple I did the cake for...had me show their guests that part of the cake was fake! LOL! They were so tickled I could do it for them they wanted to share the magic trick! LOL!

You, of course, could let them cut the bottom layer and then remove the cake to the kitchen for service.
Cat

erincc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
erincc Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 9:02pm
post #3 of 12