Brother Turning 16- Need Cake Ideas!

Decorating By rkei Updated 28 Jun 2010 , 5:20pm by rkei

rkei Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rkei Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 2:44am
post #1 of 11

Yep, me. Again. So, as ya'll know, I am not very good at cake decorating. My big bro is turning 16. He is really into mechanics, trucks, anything that has an enjine. He has even made a go cart, and completely transformed some other things! Back to the subject.... I have seen pictures of like cakes with race cars on them. The race cars are just like done with a star tip, flat against the cake, anyone know what I am talking about? Can anyone give me a simple, but good idea? Last year, I got some Kit-Kat bars and made a bunch of leaves on the tops of them with BC, and stuck them into the cake to look like "trees". It looked great! Then, I made some "dirtbike jumps" out of graham crackers. Again, looked great. I bought a cheap sport car from the store, and made it flying of the jump. It looked fantastic, in my eyes... but only want to copy what I did last year if I really have to. Thank you for any help you can give me!

10 replies
njoycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
njoycakes Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 4:29pm
post #2 of 11

I think what you are talking about are the wilton shaped pans, I haven't used one myself but from what I've read they seem to be pretty straightforward and come out of the tin ok as long as you use some cake release. Have a look, see if this is what you're looking for. http://www.wilton.com/shapedpans/
Alternatively, if you don't want to fork out too much cash why not try to do a buttercream transfer? Again not something I've done but it looks simple enough to do and the overall effect is pretty impressive.
Or, if you're wanting to do a 3d type of cake, how about a race track, again you could use toy cars but in a different setting than the dirt track.
HTH

tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tesso Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 5:07pm
post #3 of 11