Fondant Help!

Baking By CassCakes81 Updated 24 May 2010 , 8:06pm by deescuppycakes

CassCakes81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CassCakes81 Posted 23 May 2010 , 10:05pm
post #1 of 7

I have made marshmallow & buttercreme findant, but each time I make it it breaks when I try to put it on the cake. It also doesnt smooth out when I use the smoothing paddle.
I'm a beginner, I love to do this, but I have been so discouraged.
Any tips?
Thank You!

6 replies
yums Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yums Posted 23 May 2010 , 10:16pm
post #2 of 7

Might just be me, but I've never heard of putting buttercream in fondant. Did you try rubbing crisco in ?

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 24 May 2010 , 2:37am
post #3 of 7

What recipe did you use? I've never heard of marshmallow/buttercream fondant either. Would you mind posting the recipe? of just the ingredients used in the recipe?

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 24 May 2010 , 2:44am
post #4 of 7

Just a guess, but i'm assuming she has made Marshmallow Fondant and Buttercreme fondant (or rolled buttercreme maybe?)

My first question is have you ever used a store brand of fondant? I tried making MMF a few times and then purchased some and realized that I had been adding too much PS to the fondant and it was to dry so it wasn't stretching like it was supposed to. Once I knew what fondant was supposed to feel like it made it a lot easier.

As for not smoothing out, what are you putting on your cake underneath the fondant? I use buttercream, others use jam, or ganache. If you are laying the fondant over a bumpy surface it is going to look bumpy too, you need a smooth surface underneath to start with. (or something that can be smoothed like buttercream)

For the buttercreme fondant, I am assuming you're talking about rolled buttercreme? I remember making some of this a long time ago, but don't remember much about it.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile