Help! Instructions For Gum Paste Ballet Slippers

Decorating By onegreengal Updated 18 May 2010 , 9:09pm by sweetflowers

onegreengal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
onegreengal Posted 18 May 2010 , 3:40pm
post #1 of 14

Hello, it's recital time and I'm making a ballerina theme cake for my DD.
I made the gum paste and now need to mould the slippers, but don't know where to start... I found a template for a slipper on this site but really need step-by-step instructions. I'm new to cake decorating so there's lots of room for improvement. I appreciate your help!

13 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 18 May 2010 , 4:32pm
post #2 of 14

Hi, here is te ballet template from here.

http://media.cakecentral.com/files/balletshoepattern_644.jpg

HTH. icon_smile.gif

onegreengal Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:24pm
post #3 of 14

I saw the template... but do not know what to do after I cut it out. I imagine it has to be draped on something to get the right shape and then stuffed? Anyway, thanks!

bashini Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:35pm
post #4 of 14

I would make a sausage using lot of saran wrap and keep it on the sole so that the other part can stay upright and not bend inside. icon_smile.gif

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:40pm
post #5 of 14

That's a great template!! Thanks for sharing! icon_biggrin.gif

bashini Posted 18 May 2010 , 6:35pm
post #6 of 14

You are welcome! icon_smile.gif

onegreengal Posted 18 May 2010 , 7:29pm
post #7 of 14

Makes sense - thanks!

sweetflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetflowers Posted 18 May 2010 , 7:54pm
post #8 of 14

Well Shoot! I searched all over for a ballet shoe pattern with NO success. I then ended up making my own. It took a couple tries and I swear it looks almost exactly like this.

onegreengal Posted 18 May 2010 , 8:09pm
post #9 of 14