Indydebi Bc Not Crusting?!? Help!!!

Baking By CaseyNic Updated 14 May 2010 , 8:32pm by CaseyNic

CaseyNic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CaseyNic Posted 14 May 2010 , 3:50pm
post #1 of 9

Hey there CC! I've been decorating cakes for about 10 months now and have been using Indydebi's bc for about 6 months and LOVE IT!! I've never had a bit of trouble with it and always get a really nice crust...until last night icon_cry.gif I made two seperate batches because I was working on 2 cakes at once and both of the them REFUSED to crust!! Well, let me take that back. I put one cake in the fridge to "set up" before melviraing and when it came out it was crusted fine but went back to mushy and almost slimy as it sat out to room temp. It's like its sweating or something, but I always put cakes in and out of the fridge and have never had an issue. So here is my question: Could this be a humidity thing? It was a tad humid the last couple days (NOTHING like what we get in July/Aug). If it is the humidity is there something I can do to tweak the recipe to be more humidity durable?? It was a total pain trying to smooth and decorate these two cakes and I can't imagine what it will be like when we get to full blown summer! Please help if you can icon_sad.gif

8 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 14 May 2010 , 4:33pm
post #2 of 9

Why did you put them in the fridge? I'd leave that step out myself. I live in a very humid area so I avoid putting cakes in the fridge as much as possible.

CaseyNic Posted 14 May 2010 , 4:47pm
post #3 of 9