Why Does My Buttercream Curdle When I Colour It ??

Baking By strathmore Updated 2 May 2010 , 3:13am by erinalicia

strathmore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
strathmore Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 9:51pm
post #1 of 9

Hi this is my first time posting on this site so I am a CC v i r g i n and it happens to be in the disasters forum. Anyway I did my first BC cake last night and when I coloured the BC it was fine at first but then it curdles and separates and gets even worse in the bag as I am piping. I was doing a basketweave and by the end it was pretty much blended in and would fall off. Was in the fridge overnight and firmed up - told hubby it would be ok to eat but keep chilled. Anyway the recipe is crusting 1/4c butter, 1/4c crisco, 4cups icing sugar, 2tbsp milk. I used Wiltons ivory and a touch chefmaster dark brown mixed into mabye 1/2 tsp boiling water to dissolve it as othewise I end up with blobs of colour. So next I just used straight colour for dark brown and it still curdled. I will try to attach a picture - I did not take one of the back where it was worst but you can still see the curdling. I am having trouble loading the picture but any advice before I can get it done appreciated.

8 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 9:56pm
post #2 of 9

only thing I can think of is your milk or butter was bad....Try water instead of milk and new butter.

ziggytarheel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ziggytarheel Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 10:14pm
post #3 of 9

Two suggestions:
1. Beat your fat (butter or shortening) for quite a while. Sometimes you can see little "grains" of your fat because they haven't been thoroughly pulverized.
2. After step one, be sure your liquid is thoroughly incorporated.

I've found those two things to take care of this issue. Hope this helps!

tmac670 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tmac670 Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 10:17pm
post #4 of 9