Need Fondant Help

Decorating By pocketgirl Updated 28 Apr 2010 , 1:15am by pocketgirl

pocketgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pocketgirl Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 5:30pm
post #1 of 5

I am new at all of this and I'm kind of learning as I go. I have not attempted to COVER a cake in fondant yet. Can you put a light colored fondant on top of a dark colored frosting? Or should the frosting be lighter so that it doesn't show through?

4 replies
hilberry1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hilberry1 Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 6:47pm
post #2 of 5

In my experience, which is somewhat limited, a dark frosting will show through a light colored fondant. You have less of a chance of that happening if you don't roll the fondant really thin, but most people don't like a thick layer of fondant. Hopefully someone will post a solution to this, since it kind of limits what kind of cake and frosting you can make with certain cake designs!

lanana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lanana Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 9:08pm
post #3 of 5

i think it will depend on what fondant are you using. Some premade fondants are less translucent than others. Satin ice is great!! i have used it to cove a chocolate cake cover in chocolate ganache, and i can tell you it doesn't show anything, of curse try to roll it not too thin. If using MMF, make sure to roll it thicker since is more translucent.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 9:11pm
post #4 of 5

I've used Michele Foster's Fondant to cover a cake with chocolate ganache and it didn't show thru. What kind of fondant are you using?

pocketgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pocketgirl Posted 28 Apr 2010 , 1:15am
post #5 of 5