Icing Sliding Off A Cupcake Bouquet!!

Baking By cupcakefrost Updated 4 May 2010 , 12:53pm by Cake-O-Rate

cupcakefrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakefrost Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 1:04am
post #1 of 8

did this ever happen to anyone? i left the bouquet on the counter after having refrigerated it for a while, then a few of the cupcakes lost their icing. it slid right off! i wonder if it was the cooling in the fridge and thawing out, or if the icing was too soft, or if i should've thawed out the cupcakes before icing them (i froze them to make it easier to stick on the toothpicks). does anyone have any suggestions, please? thanks icon_smile.gif

7 replies
jadedlogic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jadedlogic Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 1:25am
post #2 of 8

I have never done a cupcake bouquet before but it sounds like it was probably the condensation from them thawing out. Are the rest ok? If not I would take them out until they thaw completely so they are all sitting flat.

cupcakefrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakefrost Posted 27 Apr 2010 , 2:56am
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadedlogic

I have never done a cupcake bouquet before but it sounds like it was probably the condensation from them thawing out. Are the rest ok? If not I would take them out until they thaw completely so they are all sitting flat.

this actually happened a few months ago, but i am thinking of doing them again for mother's day, but am a little nervous about them sliding off again. i think ur right and i won't refrigerate this time. after i freeze the cupcakes and put them on, i think i will let them thaw out before icing them. thanks!

emrldsky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emrldsky Posted 29 Apr 2010 , 12:52pm
post #4 of 8

I had this happen once, and I didn't freeze or refrigerate anything. I think the biggest issue was the angle my cupcakes were at. Maybe trying to make sure the cupcake isn't tilted too much would help too.