Basic Question About Frosting Coloring

Decorating By luvlaugh Updated 25 Apr 2010 , 3:52pm by denetteb

luvlaugh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvlaugh Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 1:42am
post #1 of 5

I want to stripe the color in the decorating bag and I have never done it before. I was wondering if anyone can tell me how much coloring to stripe the bag with. And also, does it matter where i put the color in the bag? Thank you very much.

4 replies
KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 3:14am
post #2 of 5

This page from Wilton may help you.
http://www.wilton.com/decorating/icing/coloring-icing.cfm

Also, do some experimenting on your own to see what works for you. icon_smile.gif

Mama_Mias_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mama_Mias_Cakes Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 1:06pm
post #3 of 5

I played around with this method and tipped some roses. I painted the color on the crease of my plastic disposable bags. I did not use my feather weight ones, because I didn't want to dye my bag. Do not use a lot. Sorry about the graininess of the pic.
LL

didavista Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
didavista Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 1:38pm
post #4 of 5

I personally found it easier to do the striping in a parchment bag not the plastic disposables. The plastic bags to me, repelled the color, where the parchment bags I could control the stripe better.

denetteb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denetteb Posted 25 Apr 2010 , 3:52pm
post #5 of 5