Wedding Cake Advice

Decorating By k_mun Updated 24 Apr 2010 , 6:24pm by tonedna

k_mun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k_mun Posted 23 Apr 2010 , 4:15pm
post #1 of 14

Hi All.
A newbie here....I have been baking regular cakes for several years now. I have baked large single cakes for birthday parties. A couple I know wants me to bake them a wedding cake.
The cake will be 4 tiers . Each tier will have 2 layers filled with fruit and cream cheese and frosted generoulsy with neo classic buttercream.
Covering each tier will be marshmallow fondant.
I am looking for any advice, suggestions.

Thanks.

13 replies
leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 23 Apr 2010 , 4:33pm
post #2 of 14

what are you looking for advice on?
- timeline?
- stuctrual support?
- flavors?
- recipes for certain flavors?

there is a lot to a tiered cake, can you be more specific? and if you're looking for all of that information that's ok too, just want to make sure you get what you're looking for.

k_mun Posted 23 Apr 2010 , 4:43pm
post #3 of 14

To be more specific, I guess I would like to know how structurally sound a tiered cake built on neo classic buttercream and marshamallow fondant would be? Would the buttercream cause the tiers to become unstable at room temperature? Would they slip and slide under the buttercream?

I am also planning on using syrup to make the baked layers moist. Is this advisable for tiered cakes? Would this affect their integrity?

About the fondant....I have heard that when MMF is exposed to air it dries out quickly. How do I keep this from happening once the fondant is on the cake and exposed?

Thanks.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 23 Apr 2010 , 5:15pm
post #4 of 14

The icing has nothing to do with the structural integrity of the cake. The cakes are held in place by your support system (wooden dowels, bubble straws, SPS system, etc.) So cross that one off of your "List of things to worry about!" thumbs_up.gif