Baking For Friends

Business By Nicolekristiner Updated 23 Apr 2010 , 1:13am by leily

Nicolekristiner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nicolekristiner Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 6:37pm
post #1 of 8

I am currently working on my baking skills so I can one day open up my own shop. I used to make cakes for my friends so the cake doesnt go bad just sitting at my place. But now they are getting on my case about not bringing them cakes. But they dont give me any money. Since Im just starting out I have to pay for everything. How do I tell my friends that they have to start paying me for cakes and such because my bank account is taking a hit with all these requests?

7 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 8

Once they start paying you for cakes you ARE in business.

If they're demanding cake from you, then they aren't very good friends. I'd start taking my practice cakes to someone else.

shalini1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shalini1 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 7:52pm
post #3 of 8

I think everyone here has pretty much got the same story or started similarly icon_biggrin.gif I would say, if you're giving it free, they cannot ask for cakes. If you have requests for cakes, tell them how much it'll cost (yes, it's very much ok to charge a friend for a cake that you did not volunteer to provide for them. I do it all the time!). No money = no cake.

Tell them that you were just trying to spread your wings and practice on some recipes hence the free goodies, when you do more practicing in the future, maybe they'll get some but for now if they want cake from you they'll have to order it like a supportive friend.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 8:08pm
post #4 of 8

I would simply tell them "I can't afford to give away any more cake". End of story..........

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 8:16pm
post #5 of 8