Help With Shape

Decorating By JennasNonna Updated 19 Apr 2010 , 12:43pm by JennasNonna

JennasNonna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennasNonna Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 11

Hi There. I need an opinion. I am making a cake for my son's 30th birthday next weekend. The party is a Las Vegas theme. I am following a few ideas here on CC website. I will be a 3 tier... My idea was to make the top tier 6 inch square white fondant with black circles to replicate a die. The next two tiers are 10 inch and 12 inch tiers. I wanted to make them round, but now i am not sure. Can i make the bottom tiers round and the top square or should I do a square 12 inch, round 10 inch and square 6"?
I am fairly new to this and am still kind of nervous.

10 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 7:44pm
post #2 of 11

may be way too much cake -- (based on 2x2x2 size piece = 1 - 2" layer cut in 2x2 squares)

but I'd do the 6"square die - (27 servings: 3 layers @ 9 2x2 servings each)

on a 10" round poker chip -- single 2" layer ( about 16 servings)

on a 11x15 playing card. -- single 2" layer (35 servings with trimmings left over)

so that would be enough for about 78 people
LL

lilyankee5688 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilyankee5688 Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 8:06pm
post #3 of 11

thats a great idea Doug I'm always impressed with ideas you come up with!

iamcakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iamcakin Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 2:38am
post #4 of 11

Wow...another winner from Doug! icon_eek.gif I am always super impressed with your ideas, not to mention your incredible diagrams! thumbs_up.gif

Nacnacweazel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nacnacweazel Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 2:57am
post #5 of 11

NICE DOUG! I'm with iamcakin also, diagrams are awesome. thumbs_up.gif

JennasNonna Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 12:40pm
post #6 of 11

thanks so much.... i will post pictures....

JennasNonna Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 8:03pm
post #7 of 11