Newbie Needie Help With Lettering

Decorating By bohemiagetsajob Updated 19 Apr 2010 , 2:13am by bohemiagetsajob

bohemiagetsajob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bohemiagetsajob Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 6:34am
post #1 of 7

I am extremely new to cake decorating and I just decorate cakes for fun for family and friends. I am doing a sports jersey cake for my nephew's birthday party at the end of the month and I need help with the block lettering. How can I make sure it's straight and even looking? Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated. I've become addicted to this site because everyone seems so supportive. Thank you in advance!

6 replies
dalis4joe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dalis4joe Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 7:40am
post #2 of 7

Hi and welcome to CC!!!

If you have a letter cutter set..... that's the best way... if u don't... I reccomend buying some stencil paper (blank) @ a craft store... printing the letter(s) from your PC and carefully with an exacto knife trace the letter into the stencil paper to cut it the exact way... then use that either as a cutter or as a stencil...

hth

dguerrant Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dguerrant Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 12:13pm
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalis4joe

Hi and welcome to CC!!!

If you have a letter cutter set..... that's the best way... if u don't... I reccomend buying some stencil paper (blank) @ a craft store... printing the letter(s) from your PC and carefully with an exacto knife trace the letter into the stencil paper to cut it the exact way... then use that either as a cutter or as a stencil...

That's similsr to what I do, except I used waxed paper. Before I lay it on fondant, I put a little oil on a papertowel and gently wipe the fondant or the waxed paper, it helps it to stay put for me to cut out the shape with an exacto knife.