What Filling Can Go With Fondant?

Decorating By Donny13 Updated 15 Apr 2010 , 2:51pm by Donny13

Donny13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donny13 Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 1:06am
post #1 of 14

This may be a stupid question but, if a fondant covered cake CANT be put in the fridge, then, am i right to say that my choices of fillings are limited?
If so, is there a rule of thumb when deciding? or what are my options, is there a list somewhere of fondant "friendly" filling? Obviously im a newbie to this and this question may seam stupid, but the answers would help me out alot. I designed a cake for my sisters engagement party and at the last min. after buying all the ingredients i found out that i couldnt use a fresh rasperry and whipped topping filling. So as you can imagin this will save me alot of grief next time.

Thank you!

13 replies
Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 1:41am
post #2 of 14

You can use anything that is shelf stable. I use RIch's Bettercreme, it is like whipped cream only stable at room temp. You can mix lots of things with it to flavor it different flavors. You can also use the sleeved fillings, those are all shelf stable too. LOTS of options.

And to add to the mix, there are some that DO refrigerate their fondant covered cakes. (I am not one of them though). icon_wink.gif

newmansmom2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newmansmom2004 Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 1:56am
post #3 of 14

There's no hard and fast rule on putting fondant covered cakes in the fridge. I've done it and they've turned out just fine. Just give the cake time to come to room temperature and, if necessary, have a small fan on low speed near the cake to help any condensation evaporate. I didn't even need the fan and the cakes were just fine.

ceshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ceshell Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 7:39am
post #4 of 14