Crumb Coat Before Freezing??

Decorating By andyneal331 Updated 7 Apr 2010 , 7:16am by chocolatestone

andyneal331 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andyneal331 Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 7

I've never done a crumb coat before, but I feel like I need to on this baby shower cake I have coming up this Saturday. I also have an Anniversary cake to do this weekend.. so I'm going to start baking and freezing today. Two cakes will be chocolate (four layers total). Should I crumb coat them before I put them in the freezer?? Or when I bring them out and let them thaw over night?

If crumb coating isn't suggested, please let me know! I'm still a newbie! icon_redface.gif

6 replies
KimAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimAZ Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 5:39pm
post #2 of 7

It can be done either way. Some people crumb coat the cakes ( cooled completely of course) then freeze to firm up. Some freeze, defrost then crumb coat. Often times if it's done that way, you can still put the crumb coated cakes back in the fridge or freezer to set up for the final coating of buttercream and/or fondant.

Hope that helps.
KimAZ

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 5:42pm
post #3 of 7

To answer your question as to whether to crumb coat. YES you should crumb coat. Especially when it's a chocolate cake. I crumb coat after I take my cakes from the freezer.

andyneal331 Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 4:30am
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamawrobin

To answer your question as to whether to crumb coat. YES you should crumb coat. Especially when it's a chocolate cake. I crumb coat after I take my cakes from the freezer.

I know this is probably a STUPID question.. but how do you crumbcoat? Or how do you make it?

KimAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimAZ Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 4:38am
post #5 of 7