Ok, Stupid Question...

Baking By careylynn Updated 25 Mar 2010 , 4:11am by ladyonzlake

careylynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
careylynn Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 3:40pm
post #1 of 16

I have always made scratch cakes, but to my disavail, they always turn out on the dry side. I am trying a WASC version cake (by macmom) and it calls for a pkg of vanilla pudding (2 cake box recipe) does that mean a small or large pkg? Also, does the wet ingredients have to be room temp like if you were doing a scratch cake??

15 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 3:46pm
post #2 of 16

hey carelynn, I'm delivering a wedding cake this weekend to Painsville lol

As for the pudding mix, sounds like she means the big pkg. from your description. Do you have a link to the recipe?? Then I could tell you better.

careylynn Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 4:44pm
post #3 of 16

Oh goodness..Where do you live? I am just starting out, I would love to get to the point of doing wedding cakes!

http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=df4f9hbq_46cs9f28fs

Actually it's her "gourmet cake" doc. page. Half way down, vanilla WASC.
Do you have to have the wet ingred. room temp?

CakeMommyTX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommyTX Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 4:54pm
post #4 of 16

Usually for all the WASC variations it's the 3.9-4oz "small" pkg of instant pudding.
The actual ounces vary by brand and flavor (sugar free etc.) but it's around 4oz give or take a few.

KHalstead Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 5:17pm
post #5 of 16

I see on macsmom's chocolate WASC she calls for 2 sm. pkg. of pudding mix.....hmmmmmm

If you're using 2 cake mixes, adding 2 pudding mixes won't hurt...I do that all the time!

Careylynn I'm in Conneaut, right on the Pa border in the northeastern corner of Ashtabula county.