Contact Paper Warped Cakeboard-Anyone Know What Went Wrong??

Decorating By erinki Updated 5 Mar 2010 , 12:16am by erinki

erinki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
erinki Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 7:58pm
post #1 of 6

Hi all-
I am a novice baker, so I may be doing something wrong, but I am having trouble covering my cakeboard with contact paper. I covered a cake board (cardboard rectangle, bought from local cake decorating store) with patterned contact paper, but the contact paper must have shrunk or something, because by the next day the board had warped and was bent upwards and unusable. Do you need to cover both sides of the cakeboard (I only did the front with a bit of overlap to the back)? Was the cardboard cakeboard I used too thin? Was it the brand of contact paper?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks,
Erin

5 replies
smbegg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smbegg Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 8:18pm
post #2 of 6

I do not wrap cardboard in contact paper, so I am not sure. I wrap my masonite boards in contact paper without any problems. Then I place the cake board on top. If you are looking to just make a cardboard decorative, I would make a drum (glue multiple boards together) before. Then you can just use the contact paper on the top and use a ribbon around the edges. Or just use the fancy foil type products.

Contact paper hasn't been food approved, so I try not to have the cake in direct contact with it.

Hope that helps.

stephanie

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 11:11pm
post #3 of 6

For most cakes of any size, a single cardboard cake board is too thin and flexible for support.

You may want to use 2 or 3 of those boards taped together to create a nice decorative bottom board.

The adhesive on some of the colored contact papers is really strong. Depending on the way you adhered it, it may have pulled on the ends and cupped the board.