How Do I Get Rid Of Crumblies

Decorating By barb419 Updated 11 Feb 2010 , 5:06pm by barb419

barb419 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
barb419 Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 12:27am
post #1 of 10

I am new at cake decorating. All I have used frosting wise is store bought. I have made a few cakes where I cut out paterns. I was wondering if there was a way to frost the cut part of the cake without it falling apart or the frosting falling off. If the frosting decides to say on then it has alot of cake 'crumblies' in it. Any info would help. This is the most upsetting part of decorating my cakes so far, like I said I'm new at this. I really enjoy making cakes and would love to one day have cake central worthy cakes. icon_razz.gif Thanks in advance for any help.

9 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 12:27am
post #2 of 10

Part of the problem is using the canned frosting. It is not the proper consistency for icing a cake nicely.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 3:53am
post #3 of 10

Just what prterrell said. icon_smile.gif

Because if you're pulling up cake with the frosting, I'd say your frosting is too thick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakesCakes

Most people crumb coat in order to seal in the crumbs on a freshly baked cake so that the crumbs don't appear on the finished iced surface.

I always crumb coat out of habit.

I lightly ice the cake with buttercream to the point where I can still see the color of the cake. I let it sit or refrigerate it at this point (because the crumb coat acts like a layer of saran wrap).

My icing only lightly crusts, but this just means that when you touch it, no icing comes up on your finger. When I go to put on the finish coat of icing, I get no cake crumbs on the surface this way. Another benefit can be that, especially in hot weather, the finished coat of icing is less likely to slide off of the cake sides.

HTH
Rae