Can I Salvage My Gumpaste Figure?

Decorating By patticake1956 Updated 28 Jan 2010 , 9:55pm by patticake1956

patticake1956 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticake1956 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 1:15pm
post #1 of 12

I made a gumpaste/fondant Gumby for a cake I'm making and I totally forgot to put spaghetti in the arms to attach them to the body. I did use "gumpaste glue" to attach the arms to the body but, now that he is dry, they have fallen off icon_eek.gif Maybe, I should have tried to model him out of one piece but, this is my first try at modeling figures and I didn't think I could do it that way. Anyway, is there a way to fix this or do I have to do him completely over icon_cry.gif Need suggestions to fix and/or for any future modeling hints.
Thanks, Patti

11 replies
Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 1:19pm
post #2 of 12

Not sure if this will work, but it is worth a try before making another one. Heat a small wire up to stick into the gumpaste - one end in the arm, the other in the body (don't burn yourself!) The hot wire might be able to go in the dried gumpaste. Make sure you tell the folks getting the cake that there are wires in him if it works.

wrightway777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wrightway777 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 1:24pm
post #3 of 12

great idea about the hot wires Loucinda.
And if the seems on the shoulder look a bit rough maybe you could put a shirt on him that matches your theme.

iamelms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iamelms Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 1:32pm
post #4 of 12

This might sound gross, but if it's not edible, could you superglue them on?

jojo76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jojo76 Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 1:59pm
post #5 of 12

use a little royal icing, dab on the parts you want to stick on, hold on with sponge pads or whatever support you have until dry,

bisbqueenb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bisbqueenb Posted 27 Jan 2010 , 2:40pm
post #6 of 12