Need Help With Mmf

Decorating By barnes113 Updated 17 Jan 2010 , 6:07pm by barnes113

barnes113 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
barnes113 Posted 17 Jan 2010 , 5:17pm
post #1 of 6

I'M A NEWBIE WITH FONDANT, I MADE MMF TASTE GREAT BUT IT GOT REALLY DRY REALLY FAST I HAD TO KEEP PUTTING IT IN THE MICROWAVE TO EVEN GET IT TO TO ROLL OUT, MY QUESTION IS SINCE I'M NEW TO USING MMF OR ANY KINDA FONDANT I DON'T HAVE ANYTHING TO COMPARE TO DOES IT SUPPOSE TO GET DRY REALLY QUICK, HOW DO I KEEP IT FROM STICKING I USED CORNSTARCH BUT IT LEFT THE FONDANT DULL LOOKING AND WHITE AND HOW DO I GET THE SHINY COLOR.. icon_cry.gif
AS YOU GUYS CAN ALL SEE I REALLY NEED HELP ANY HELP OR A TUTORIAL U COULD DIRECT ME TO WOULD BE VERY HELP FULL. THANKS IN ADVANCE thumbs_up.gif

5 replies
jenncowin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenncowin Posted 17 Jan 2010 , 5:29pm
post #2 of 6

If your MMF is too dry, work some shortening into it. Put about a tablespoon or so onyou hand and knead it in.

I personally don't use cornstarch when rolling out my fondant because it does dry it out. I use a can of cheap vegetable pan spray (like Pam). It works great for me, plus it also helps the fondant stick to the icing a little bit better.

I know that there are probably a lot of other suggestions out there, but this is what works for me!

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 17 Jan 2010 , 5:35pm
post #3 of 6

try using trex (or pam) to roll it out on. too much tho can make it too soft - so ps can work as well, but like the cornstarch, can make it dry out.

brush off the excess dust (some use cocoa powder on dark fondant, as its less noticeable), should come off pretty well.

you can rub trex over the cake, or steam it - this will help to get rid of any left over powder, and also gives it a shine. the steam shine is better (i think!) though, and lasts longer.