My Friend Is Getting Married...

Decorating By stacylambert Updated 17 Jan 2010 , 3:37pm by Mensch

stacylambert Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stacylambert Posted 13 Jan 2010 , 10:17pm
post #1 of 28

... and asked if I would make the wedding cake. I jumped at the chance since I'm a hobbyist decorator and this is probably the only "real" wedding cake I'll get to make. Her wedding isn't until September and I'm already wishing I'd said no.

First of all, she wants flavor that I can't even find a recipe for - raspberry pink champagne cake. I asked if she meant pink champagne cake with a raspberry filling, but she said no. She doesn't want a filling, just frosting between the layers. I was like icon_confused.gif but started whipping up batches of flavored WASC. I made one that's pretty good, but she's yet make the time to try it.

Next, the design. She sent me this picture:

I have no idea where she found it from, so I apologize if it belongs to anyone on here. I'll give you credit if you let me know.

Her colors were originally going to be fall colors (red, orange, yellow, and brown I think) with each ribbon being one of the colors. She's now changed it to just brown and red. I suggested chocolate fondant with red ribbons, but she quickly passed on that idea. After having me photoshop the picture for the umpteenth time she's settled on alternating red and brown ribbons with red flowers.

Anyway, the final straw for me is that she's is adamant about using artificial flowers. Blah. With nearly nine months left I would have more than enough time to make flowers for it or she could get live flowers that matched her bouquet. But no. Artificial.

I just wish I could say something to her about some of these choices. I'm not getting paid for this, mind you. It's my gift to them, so I haven't said a word other than making little suggestions here and there.

Okay, that's my little rant. It feels better to get it off my chest. LOL.

27 replies