Charged At Cost. Now I've Done It!

Decorating By CAKEahuna Updated 12 Jan 2010 , 3:42am by justducky

CAKEahuna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CAKEahuna Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 6:56pm
post #1 of 10

Ugh. So the last month or so my cake decorating passion has caught on like wildfire. I have people asking how much I charge? Where is my business card? I never expected this. I have only done a total of 5 cakes that include fondant so I am a Rookie and I do have ALOT to learn.
Yesterday, a friend of a friend asked me to do her daughters Spongebob cake and how much I charge? I told her I would do it at cost but now I think I may have started something. I don't want people to think I don't charge. Ack! I have 4 kids under the age of 7 and I need to get paid for my time and effort. Please give me some advice about pricing and what to tell future clients. Thanks so much.

9 replies
_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CAKEahuna Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 7:34pm
post #3 of 10

Ok. I get it. I made my bed now lie in it, right. icon_cry.gif Thanks for the link. Just was curious how to clean up my mess. Now how do I delete this post?

_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 7:40pm
post #4 of 10

I frankly do not know how you would clean that up. I never did that, because I didn't want to shortchange myself.

How do you tell people what was basically free before, now costs (what they will say is) an arm and a leg? I don't know. Wouldn't want to have to. icon_sad.gif

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 7:47pm
post #5 of 10

QueenMommy, What are the rules and regulations in your area? If you are not allowed to legally sale cakes that could be your way out.

In this case I think because you already said it you just have to suck it up and do it. I would be very clear that it was an one time only price and if she wants another cake, it will be xyz amount.