Baking And Pastry School Or Baking Classes?

Decorating By musselmom Updated 11 Jan 2010 , 5:22pm by adventuregal

musselmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
musselmom Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 12:02am
post #1 of 12

I would love to go to Baking and Pastry school. I just discovered one about 30 miles from my home. The class schedule would work perfect with my current job. Only problem is it would be abount $16,000.00.
I have been decorating cakes for over 30 years. I feel confident about my decorating skills (always wishing/trying to improve) but I want to learn to bake great cakes, from scratch. The town I live in doesn't even have a bakery, only a Wal-mart. I don't think I'd learn that working there. Anybody know of someplace to take a class or classes on cake baking?
Most posts I've seen say culinary schools aren't worth the money. Any one out there go to Baking and Pastry school?

11 replies
Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 12:17am
post #2 of 12

16 isn't bad that's a pretty good price. Do you get a degree with that? Is it ACF certified. Since you want to learn more than decorating I do suggest you go to school. You certainly don't have to, BUT you will be years ahead of someone that started at the same level as you.

Now if it was LCB, or Art inst. I would say no way the tuition is to high you'll never make your money back..

Can you check with a community college nearby?

Mike

littlejewel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlejewel Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 12:39am
post #3 of 12

I don't know how far your nearest largest city is, mine is 2 hours away. There is a school called the french pastry school in chicago they offer continuing education classes, maybe there is something like that near you. frenchpastryschool.com

musselmom Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 12:44am
post #4 of 12