Cake Boards

Decorating By Donnawb Updated 8 Jan 2010 , 4:44am by countrycaker

Donnawb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donnawb Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 5:30pm
post #1 of 8

What does everyone use for the cute cake boards they decorate to match their cakes? What is the acutal board.....styrofoam, cardboard? I'm just a hobby baker for friends and family, and have just started doing this. The cardboard cake boards that are sold at craft stores don't seem thick enough to put a ribbon around the base. I'm looking for someting inexpensive. Thanks!

7 replies
_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 5:36pm
post #2 of 8

There should also be, right around the same section, foil covered drums, which 1/2 inch thick. I use those sometimes, or cut them from 1/2 inch foam core, or order sturdier ones from cake supply websites. For heavier or more delicate designed cakes, I cut masonite, cover with fondant or butcher paper and decorate from there.

countrycaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
countrycaker Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 6:00pm
post #3 of 8

Here's a good tutorial for making your own cake boards:

juststarted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juststarted Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 9:56pm
post #4 of 8

The link posted by countrycaker is really neat. To get those professional look you can Cover a board in fondant and here is a link for that:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/extra-icing/sets/72157594575839118

Chippi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chippi Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 10:02pm
post #5 of 8

Most use foamboard you can get it at Hobby lobby or Michaels although I always get mine at HL. HTH icon_smile.gif

msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 10:11pm
post #6 of 8

I heard you can also buy foamboard at Staples pretty cheap.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 7 Jan 2010 , 10:26pm
post #7 of 8