Wedding Cake Questions, Ribbons, And Stencils

Decorating By mcmurray20 Updated 30 Dec 2009 , 1:16pm by KHalstead

mcmurray20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcmurray20 Posted 29 Dec 2009 , 6:53pm
post #1 of 4

ooook so im very new to cake decorating only done a couple, but someone asked me to do a wedding cake for them.. trying not to go in over my head.. but i figured if i just read step by step i can do each step at a time and how hard can it be?....

THEN i realized i dont even know some of the "simplest" "silliest" things....

1. ive seen a bunch of pictures of ribbons on wedding cakes etc. are they mostly fabric? or is there a cool way to make an edible one look so realistic? what is most common?

2.ive been looking at designerstencils.com found a couple i like.. but my question is whats the best method to stencil on the sides of cakes? or even if not stenciling but scroll press and everything.. im nervous to do this side ways instead of on a flat surface.. any tips/tricks??

PLEASE share what works best for you.. the client is not sure if she wants buttercream or fondant yet.. so i need to know for both what works best.. just like royal icing on it or buttercream on buttercream? anyone recommend a certain stencil or method??

3 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 30 Dec 2009 , 10:49am
post #2 of 4

It's really difficult to give directions for every possible way the techniques you might use could be achieved. (Too many "what if's.")

Also see that you asked some similar questions in this post:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-663517-.html