Piping Help Pls - Is My Ri To Stiff?

Decorating By egensinnig Updated 23 Dec 2009 , 8:39pm by TexasSugar

egensinnig Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
egensinnig Posted 23 Dec 2009 , 6:44pm
post #1 of 7

I'm a newbie to piping and would like to make round nice pearls for the border of a cake. But I can't get them round - I get stiff peak so they look like spikes....

Is my icing to stiff or what am i doing wrong?

Any place on line I can learn more about piping, any good tutorials for ex?

6 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 23 Dec 2009 , 7:00pm
post #2 of 7

Have you been to Wilton.com? They have some great little tutorials for piping different things. You could also check youtube.com for vidoes.

The little points on the dots is from when you pull away. The icing likes to come with the tip a little. If you have a large dot you may still be piping when you pull way. When making dots hold your tip in one please, pipe, litting the icing build away from the tip, then stop piping. Before you pull away, move the top in a c motion. By moving your tip in that circular motion it will seperate the icing and tip and you shouldn't have a point.

You can also tamp down the little points with your finger dipped in corn starch.

When working with royal icing, you should be able to comforatbly pipe it with it straining your hand. If it is hard to pipe it may be too stiff. If that is the case then add water a drop at a time until it is a consistancy that you can pipe better with.