I Am Blessed Anyway... (Long)

Lounge By mim1106 Updated 26 Dec 2009 , 1:05am by Tiffany29

mim1106 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mim1106 Posted 22 Dec 2009 , 2:47pm
post #1 of 29

So, I have been down lately because we are barely scraping by right now (I am a full time student, and my husband won't let me get a part time job to help out. He says he wants me focused on school. I want to quit school so I can help out, and he said I couldn't because we need to think about the end result.) While we are scraping by, we are just making it. Some things were said to me about Christmas because I can't afford to get my entire family gifts - family I never see - so I told my husband I am ready to boycott this retail version of Christmas everyone is used to.

I sat my kids down and told them next year we were only getting them one gift, then on Christmas we were going to the VA hospital and volunteering. They seem ok with it. They are 10 and 7. Can't wait to tell the rest of the family my plan *sarcasm*

So, I am going to try and pick myself up out of this funk. Help me out everyone! Tell me what you have been blessed with this year. Nothing monetary or material. I am so tired of everyone around me wanting "things".

Heres mine: I have been blessed because although we are in a recession, my kids have a roof over their heads and clothes. My husband is a great hunter, and we have food on our table. My children are healthy, and are doing great in school.
We are broke, but we are still blessed!!!

28 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 22 Dec 2009 , 3:20pm
post #2 of 29

You know I have never understood spending so much money on Christmas. One of the best gifts we got at kids was a trucker hat and binder that my dad got from his WORK! It was probably some leftovers and that's what we got. We ALWAYS remember that.