What Am I Doing Wrong? Cracks In My Fondant?

Decorating By Spoiled1 Updated 21 Dec 2009 , 4:29am by sugarcheryl

Spoiled1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spoiled1 Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 10:02pm
post #1 of 8

Hello everyone and Happy Holidays!

I am in much need of advice/help here. I was SO excited to try the Satin Ice fondant as I have always used the MMF, and my dh says I should mix it up a bit. I am not a professional baker, but enjoy trying my hand at new things and my family & friends get to enjoy the outcome.

I am making what I thought was going to be a fun and simple cake...First time I have attempted Satin Ice fondant....I roll it out...looks great....then I put it on the cake....looks good for a moment.....until I notice the fondant is cracking. Not sure what I am doing different/wrong. icon_confused.gif

Any and all of your help is so apprecitated...
Thank you!
Julie

7 replies
_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoiled1

Hello everyone and Happy Holidays!

I am in much need of advice/help here. I was SO excited to try the fondant as I have always used the MMF, and my dh says I should mix it up a bit. I am not a professional baker, but enjoy trying my hand at new things and my family & friends get to enjoy the outcome.

I am making what I thought was going to be a fun and simple cake...First time I have attempted fondant....I roll it out...looks great....then I put it on the cake....looks good for a moment.....until I notice the fondant is cracking. Not sure what I am doing different/wrong. icon_confused.gif

Any and all of your help is so apprecitated...
Thank you!
Julie

Yeah, Satin Ice tended to do that to me too. I make MFF-give that a shot! Michelle Foster Fondant....it's divine! Recipe in here somewhere.

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 11:57pm
post #3 of 8