Questions Re: Antonia74's Ri

Baking By laurs_1981 Updated 27 Dec 2009 , 2:05am by DeeDelightful

laurs_1981 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laurs_1981 Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 4:02pm
post #1 of 9

hey guys, i was just wondering if it is truly neccessary to whip antonia74's RI for 10 mins....i'm usually quite a stickler for following recipes, esp when i've had such good results..however i am an home baker and have gone through 4 hand mixers so far due to burning out the motors.....i have a feeling that i made santa nice list and that he will be bringing me a KA this year, but in the mean time, i was wondering if anyone had had success when only beating the mix say 5 mins?...tfyh

8 replies
bakermommy4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakermommy4 Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 4:19pm
post #2 of 9

I have been in a time crunch tons of times and have beaten the icing for about that time...it turned out fine. The results are better when you go the whole time but 5 minutes are o.k.
hth

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 5:18pm
post #3 of 9

Royal icing, when not beat long enough won't preform correctly. When it hasn't been mixed long enough it will fill very thick but will not hold shape, and will just melt.

In my experince you can usually get away with it for 7 mins with a stand mixer but almost always need the 10 mins for a hand mixer. If you need to mix it for 5 mins, cover it and give your mixer a break you can do that.

An indication that your icing has been mixed long enough is that it will go from looking shiney to more matt in appreance.