Gumpaste Vs. Melting Chocolate

Decorating By countrycaker Updated 11 Dec 2009 , 3:34pm by sadsmile

countrycaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
countrycaker Posted 11 Dec 2009 , 5:04am
post #1 of 5

I'm new to this game and just wondering - do any of you use melting chocolate to make your figures for your cakes? What are the pluses to using the chocolate rather than gumpaste?

4 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 11 Dec 2009 , 6:24am
post #2 of 5

Hi and Welcome to CC, countrycaker. icon_smile.gif

Everything you need to know to make, decorate and assemble tiered/stacked/layer cakes:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-605188-.html

Above super thread has popular CC recipes for crusting American buttercreams, several types of fondant and doctored cake mix (WASC and other flavor variations) - and so much more!

What type/s of figures do you want to make? Do you want to sculpt them freehand or use a mold?

Quote:
Originally Posted by countrycaker

melting chocolate

Tempered chocolate or candy melts (or something else)?

Tempered chocolate isn't easy to use. Might want to check out the Candy Making & Pulled Sugar/Blown Sugar forum for more info.

HTH

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 11 Dec 2009 , 6:33am
post #3 of 5

I think you might be confusing modelling chocolate and melting chocolate. They are not the same thing.

countrycaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
countrycaker Posted 11 Dec 2009 , 2:47pm
post #4 of 5

JanH - Thanks for the welcome and the link. I have become SO addicted to this site - more than any other. I love CC! As to the chocolate, I'm looking for something that can be freehand molded to make figures like small animals and people.

prterrell - I guess I did mix up the two types of chocolate. Where would a person buy molding chocolate at? Are there benefits to using it over the gumpaste?

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 11 Dec 2009 , 3:34pm